Travel

Home of the King!

Recently my husband and I went to Memphis for a family reunion.  It’s a pretty soulful town.  It’s a great place to go hear live music, eat good food and meet some interesting people. We started at the legendary Beale St. It was really fun!  Kind of reminds me of Bourbon Street in New Orleans or Sixth Street in Austin, if you have been to either of those places.

Beale St. 2Beale St. has lots of bars and great places to eat. They have everything from famous Memphis BBQ, Cajun, burgers, pizza and much more. I only wish we could have hung out there longer. I don’t feel like we got the full experience of Beale St.  We will definitely be going back.

People who know me know that I am an Elvis Presley fan. Every year during the time for his birthday or the memorial of his passing, I obsess over all things Elvis.  I watch his movies and TV specials all day.  I listen to the Elvis Sirius XM station constantly.  It gets pretty intense. So I could not go to Memphis without visiting the Home of the King…Graceland! Going to Graceland definitely rekindled my Elvis obsession. I was literally like a kid in a candy store. I really enjoyed myself!

wpid-20150802_171709.jpgThe only complaint I have about Graceland is that it wasn’t bigger.  It was also in a weird part of town.  I’m sure when Elvis lived there it was a totally different neighborhood, but things have changed. I can’t complain though because I got to walk in the footsteps of Elvis Presley. When you pull into the parking lot and approach the pathway that leads to your tour, there is a great photo opp near the sign that says Graceland “The Home of Elvis Presley.”

You check in at the central hub of Graceland, where the ticket booth and gift shops are (don’t know what it’s called) :/ You buy your tickets if you don’t already have them and you load a bus. What’s really cool and unique about this tour is that everyone gets an iPad and headphones. You get to see a lot of cool multimedia stuff and hear the voice of John Stamos! (Uncle Jesse!)

20150802_152136You load the bus and you ride over to the actual Graceland Mansion. The property is really beautiful and has been very well maintained of course. As soon as you enter the Mansion you hear John Stamos’ voice telling you all about the front living room and all of the great things that happened there and a little info about the artifacts in the room like photos and furniture that were special to Elvis. As you move from room to room you can use the iPad to learn more!wpid-20150802_142231.jpg

All of the areas in the house were my favorite but the most memorable for me were the trophy room (which use to be the racquetball room) the office and of course the meditation garden where Elvis is buried. It’s such a beautiful serene place.

wpid-20150802_150749.jpg wpid-20150802_143346.jpg

wpid-20150802_151455.jpg

Depending on what package you get you also get to see other exhibits like the archive room with tons of Elvis memorabilia and artifacts, his planes and cars, and a dedication to his birthplace in Tupelo, Mississippi. You can see more pictures from our trip on my Facebook page. Until then, Thank you, Thank you very much!

Standard

Leave a Reply

